Weekly Wrap-Up . . . More Christmas Stuff!

You know, I ALWAYS forget how busy it gets this time of the year, until it DOES get busy this time of the year, lol!

In between planning for Christmas day (we have invited a large family from our church for dinner on Christmas), doing regular household STUFF, trying to figure out the best way to give each of our kids at least one thing they really want, and then fill in around the edges, we have had a church homeschool party, I have had a reviews due, had an order of cards to complete, and am even now waiting for a FedEx delivery of materials to do a new order for the same person!

Tuesday evening, the kids and I FINALLY decorated the poor naked tree that had been standing in the living room for several days . . .
Christmas 2013

In the midst of it all, I try to keep in mind the real reason for this season. We still have things going on at church. Sunday night, my younger kids, “Mr. Loquacious” and “The Puzzler” sang with the Sunshine Kids Choir for the special music, as you can see in the video below . . .

Wednesday night, I was on schedule as back up for toddler nursery, and one of the ladies on the schedule had sick kids, so I took her place. I like nursery on Wednesday nights, plus, I was working with a young mom with whom I very much enjoy spending time in conversation, so, win-win! šŸ™‚

Yesterday, we had another homeschool Christmas party, this one with our Thursday park day group. We really had fun! We did potluck, I brought pizza casserole and Totally Bad For You cake (chocolate/peanut butter), for which I was a finalist in the Flint Journal (Michigan) “Merry Indulgences”bake off way back in 1995.

The cake . . .
Cocpnutbutter cake

and the extra frosting to snack on later!
chocpnutbutter frosting

I love potlucks here in New Mexico, we are getting to try lots of stuff we’ve never had before! Some of the things brought were sopapillas, black beans, tortilla rolls, some kind of chili that was really good, and bunches of other wonderful tasting things! We find this variety in our church potlucks as well, and are enjoying it!

As you can see, there is an abundance of food here (and I THINK I took this picture before more people arrived with even MORE food! . . .
homeschool park day party 008

Doing what they do best . . .
“Mr. Loquacious”
homeschool park day party 007

“The Artist”
homeschool park day party 006

“The Batman” and “The Puzzler”
homeschool park day party 005

Making ornaments . . .
homeschool park day party 015

homeschool park day party 013

homeschool park day party 009

homeschool park day party 010

Here are the final products!
ornaments 001

Later on, we had a white elephant gift exchange, which is always a lot of fun!
homeschool park day party 011

homeschool park day party 012

All in all, though this is a busy time, we have been having lots of fun! I hope you are finding time to have fun, yet still keeping your focus on what we are really celebrating here, the birth of our Lord, without whom there would be no salvation.

If you’d like to link up with the weekly wrap-up, just click on the graphic below for information.

As always, I would love it if you join me on all of “My Journeys Through Life”! Just go to the “sign me up” button at the top of the page and enter your email, then never miss an update again! If you enjoy “My Journeys”, please go to our Facebook Page and “like” it. I’d sure love it if you did! šŸ™‚

1 Comment

Filed under Christian faith, Christmas, Church, education, family, home education, Home-school Group, Homeschool Park Day, Weekly Wrap-Up

One response to “Weekly Wrap-Up . . . More Christmas Stuff!

  1. I see you share interesting stuff here, you can earn some additional money, your blog has big potential,
    for the monetizing method, just search in google – K2
    advices how to monetize a website

Leave a comment